peeking

You bring me out of my shell,

my small, cozy shell,

with soft pillows and blankets that smell like Downy.

Do you know how comfortable that shell is?

Colored with dreams and thoughts,

scattered with the round, orange-yellow,

against the mix of midnight navy.

I have the moon right at my fingertips,

but you somehow found a way in.

It was a small way in,

and I found myself peeking outside,

in the glorious light of the real world.

This chaotic, upside-down world,

where everyone takes their heart everywhere,

instead of keeping it in a small place,

to give it to the world,

because God knows that’s what we were made to do.

Leave a Reply

