early enchantments

Where do I begin?  I want to tell you everything.  Life seems so dazzling, so hopeful now that I have discovered that everything in my life has led me to this: creative writing.  It is so surreal because now that I have discovered this fact, it is a song in my heart that cannot stop singing.

I have always had a love affair with words.  The way they wrap around your mind with their sequences, how they control your thoughts with a mere replacement of a punctuation mark.  How could I not see everyone as a story?  People are basically walking stories.  Even the ones we consider dull, why, they are utterly interesting when written in the right narrative. I suppose those good books were the things that made me feel most alive.  It came so easily, so effortlessly.  It came to me without thinking (which is surprising, considering that reading involves an adequate amount of thinking).

I believed everyone liked to read as much as I did until I got to elementary school.  I found out most kids preferred to play in the playground and talk to their friends.  How strange, I would think to myself, why would people like doing things like that?  I would then over the years continue to build a world of enchantment, where I would be the princess of my imaginary world.

Leave a Reply

