Friendship

I like how this room looks lived in,

with interest pieces and trinkets,

filled with his personality.

An Xbox 1, the Lord of the Rings series, polaroids with friends,

and orange Christmas lights lining the ceiling.

There are clothes on the floor,

the trash can is overflowing with papers,

and there is no room on the chairs to sit.

It is messy and full of love,

like he is.

 

It was sunshine and blue outside.

“I’ve always wanted this,” he told me,

“To walk with my girlfriend to church.”

He gave me my first bible,

For Elaine on Your 20th birthday

and a journal for my thoughts,

inscribed with the message

And now these three remain: faith, hope, and love.

But the greatest of these is love.

I didn’t know it would change my life,

My world never being the same again.

Leave a Reply

